Tyrrell County Schools Celebrates School Board Recognition Month This January

Our school board members are volunteers who shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices for our district, all without pay. Their goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district.  Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way to say thanks for all they do.

Serving as a link between the community and classroom, school board members are elected to establish the policies that provide the framework for public schools. The Tyrrell County Schools Board is responsible for an annual budget and the safety and well-being of our students, employees, and campuses.

Board members serving Tyrrell County Schools are: Mr. Lee Scripture, Chairman, Mrs. Karen Clough, Vice Chairman, Mr. Carlos Armstrong, Mrs. Robin Dunbar, and Ms. Janie Spencer.

It’s more important than ever before that communities support public education so that today’s students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Please take a moment and tell school board members ‘thanks for caring about our children and giving so much to our community.’ Let them know we support them and that their dedicated service is recognized and truly appreciated!